Linocut for beginners

And that beginner is me, of course.

I was in Toulouse this weekend and made sure to stop at art galleries, used book stalls in the central court (found a good van Gogh biography) and a very well-equipped art supply shop.

Among other necessities, I picked up all I needed for linocut printmaking, something I have been wanting to try for a while.

The process of cutting into the linoleum did not come naturally to me and I managed to stab myself in the thumb with the gauge. However, once I settled on a slow and steady rhythm I was able to achieve something akin to a bird. I finished one of the prints with a bit of ink.

It feels great to start the week with something new!

print

print2

Published by

Madnessasmantra

Hi! Thanks for visiting! Hope that you enjoy the blog! For more photos and art, or to purchase prints, please visit me on www.iamni.com

6 thoughts on “Linocut for beginners”

      1. It is a fun medium, you have inspired me. I need to get out my supplies and give the lino cut a try again.

  1. Lino Cut is so much fun. I have not done it for years. You can certainly handle the knife; I love the fluid marks you have created to capture the form of a bird. Keep sharing- I love seeing what other artists are up to.

    1. Thank you very much! That was the challenge – to try and replicate the lines I normally use in other media while using a knife! Hence the bloodied thumb! But I think I got the hang of it in the end 😉

Leave a Reply

