Looking for imperfection and the last of Brighton’s sunshine

My time in the studio this summer has taught me two main things – to forget about perfection and to push my boundaries.

As I create more consistently, I realise that sometimes the best, most interesting results emerge “by mistake”… when I least expect them. So to hell with perfectionism! Let’s embrace chance!

Another great discovery has been that trying new things and challenging myself in uncharted territory is actually quite fun!

A good friend of mine has commissioned a children’s illustration for her daughter, which I wasn’t sure I could deliver. I got a little nervous and sent her examples of work from an artist who does children’s illustrations which I said I could try to base my work on for this assignment. She flatly refused and said that what I make is what she would like. End of story. That kind of trust and support from her, from friends and family as well as followers on this blog has been invaluable and given me some well-needed courage to try new things and challenge myself.

So thank you all for stopping by and checking out the latest creations and for all your encouraging words!

Here is a glance at the first few strokes of the children’s illustration (which I have to say, I am having a blast creating!

 

image

image

Published by

Madnessasmantra

Hi! Thanks for visiting! Hope that you enjoy the blog! For more photos and art, or to purchase prints, please visit me on www.iamni.com

Leave a Reply

