Slowing down…

I liked being a “list girl” in the past. Dan even gave me a new last name “Anita Listmaker”… The name actually sounds quite good, but the implications of being said Ms Listmaker were not.

I had a new list every day. I would transfer un-accomplished tasks to the next day’s list so that no item was ever lost. My theory was: I am here, I want to be there and here are the 389 steps that will get me to my destination efficiently and in an organised manner.

Oh and it worked! Sh*t got done! I was one hell of an efficient Energiser Bunny!

One day, about 2.5 years ago, I suddenly decided to give up the lists in one fit of rebellion. The madness had to stop! Why, I thought, would this little black book be ruling my every move with its never-ending, and ever-increasing chore list… a self-imposed chore list at that! That year, I liberated myself of the lists and have never looked back. Never, until now. I have recently relapsed into chronic list-making.

I am at a stage where I know where I want to be as an artist and I have a good grasp of how to get there. Yet, the only way I’ve ever known how to achieve seemingly unachievable goals has been through very “anal” and structured processes which I no longer enjoy and which aren’t suited to the new softness of being that I’ve been enjoying so much.

So the question remains – now that I have a clear goal in mind, how do I not slip back into a pattern of rigidity and stiff-lipped blind determination?

The answer is this: I don’t know. But I lost my notebook this week with all its precious new lists of actions, so maybe the universe has just taken the matter into her own hands… I wasn’t meant to get back to being Ms Listmaker after all…

But can the right-side of my brain lead the way? Again – I don’t know. But I will certainly try my best. So the new approach is simple…

-Slowing down – no need to be Mother Teresa, Jeanne d’Arc, Martha Stewart and the Buddha all at once- Anita will suffice for this lifetime…

-Do less and finish what you start,

-Therefore do what is important and start less! 

Slowing down by walking aimlessly in Brighton's gorgeous (albeit tweaked a bit here...) nature!
Slowing down by walking aimlessly in Brighton’s gorgeous (albeit tweaked a bit here…) nature!

I recently listened to Neil Gaiman’s commencement speech at the University of the Arts. He says that the path toward our goal should be like a journey toward a mountain… and that any deviation is taking us away from that goal. So our daily activities should always bring us closer to that mountain; the rivers and the forests may be lovely and appealing, but in the end, they are just diverting us from the main purpose.

I think that if we are confident that we have set the compass of our goals right, we will not stray. And I don’t need a list to remind me of that…

Published by

Madnessasmantra

Hi! Thanks for visiting! Hope that you enjoy the blog! For more photos and art, or to purchase prints, please visit me on www.iamni.com

Leave a Reply

