A new season has come!

The sun is shining, the birds are going wild with excitement and the air feels fresh with opportunity – it’s spring time!

In the UK, spring equals hidden bluebells in the forest, expansive rapeseed fields on the hills and of course, the quintessential English gardens.

DSCF4570
English forests abound with fields of bluebells at this time of the year.
Gorgeous rapeseed fields
Gorgeous rapeseed fields

Since our return home after two months in India, these have been the gorgeous sights I’ve been taking in. 

As always, coming back from a longer trip can be challenging and requires some readjustment as well as time to think and process what has been seen and experienced.

English coast and all her soothing magic!
Walks in nature, taking all the beauty in

It’s interesting how taking a year “out” of the regular pace and routine of life highlights the fact that every day is like a trip, a new discovery, an adventure.

English coastline, always a soothing place to be
English coastline, always a soothing place to be

Leaving home with a backpack, a map and an adventure on my mind sure is exotic, but being here right now, trying to draw the map of how I want to shape the next few months (and years!) has been my most exciting and unpredictable adventure yet. 

English gardens - a good reminder of beauty and impermanence
English gardens – a good reminder of beauty and impermanence

It has almost been a year since I quit my job and embarked on the “no plan plan” last July. The thought that comes to my mind when I think in retrospect about it all, is that I’ve been gathering and tasting the ingredients of a life I’ve always imagined.

Even tried some new sports
Even tried some new sports

Whether it’s art, travel, writing, photography, interviewing, adventure, danger, painting, being in nature, volunteering, meditation, teaching, I tried to do it fully but without too much attachment, expectation or a feeling of duty. Just tasting it all, little or a lot, alone or with others, knowing that at any time I can walk away or do more of it.

Art, a sure part of the future mosaic!
Art, a sure part of the future mosaic!

It feels great, absolutely great. I’m so happy that I allowed myself this time, space and opportunity. Dan and I took almost 2 years to prepare ourselves to dive in head first into this uncertainty, not knowing where it would lead. Simply with the trust that instincts were stronger than fears and passions more beautiful than certainties. 

Taking the time to get a close-up glimpse- a gift we can all give ourselves
Taking the time to get a close-up glimpse, a gift I am glad we gave ourselves

Now, as I approach the year anniversary of the beginning of this adventure, I feel equally as excited to transition to a new stage of exploration. One where I gather these “ingredients” and decide what kind of mosaic I want my life to be… What proportions of each of these elements I want to include in my day-to-day life. Basically, I am ready to start cooking!

Photography has taken an unexpected place in the mix this past year
Photography has taken an unexpected place in the mix this past year

I have a fierce belief that each and every one of us has many gifts. That we all have our own vibrant mix of analytical and artistic minds. And that we need to incorporate a mixture of elements of these in order to feel balanced.

Many activities, such as volunteering, inspire me the most
Many activities, such as volunteering, inspire me the most

Some of the mosaic may not yield any financial gain, but has to have equal importance. Some of the elements that most resonate with me are probably not going to bring in the money! But I realise now that ignoring them and giving them only secondary importance will make me wilt…

And just as the English spring is blooming all around me, I am reminded of the importance of our own internal gardens – the colourful, exotic, abundant, beautiful, imperfect and in eternal renewal! 

Pleasures with no price-tag
Pleasures with no price-tags

As for the next step – the most important gift I could have given myself in this year of blissful explorations: a whole month with friends and family in Canada. And of course – with no specific plan, an open heart and loads of time to just take in the gift of the now.

DSCF4794

As always – thank you for your faithful readership!

I look forward to sharing more of these adventures with you, whether on a Mongolian steppe or from my room somewhere in the world.

Published by

Madnessasmantra

Hi! Thanks for visiting! Hope that you enjoy the blog! For more photos and art, or to purchase prints, please visit me on www.iamni.com

One thought on “A new season has come!”

Leave a Reply

