Guten Tag!

The train whistle blew as I was settling into my cabin on the morning Munich-Kempten service. The sun lit part of the German landscape, as the other held on to cold dark clouds. It had been a wonderful time in the Bavarian capital, but I was ready and eager to begin the new adventure.

I am heading to a little town not far from Kempten. It’s barely mid-October and they already had snow. I guess the Alps have their own temperamental schedule. But I don’t mind… I haven’t seen real snow since venturing into the mountains of Japan’s Nagano, and am craving a bit of cold crisp air!

My Bavarian adventure will mainly be focussed on learning new skills, enjoying a beautiful natural setting and having the time to indulge in art projects and writing.

As I am passing the changing colours of the German countryside, I cannot help but think about how wounded this landscape once was. In Munich, I passed the majestic Angel of Peace monument erected in 1899 to celebrate 25 years of peace between the French and the German powers. It is much too rare to see a commemoration of peace and not of the fallen of a famous war.

I must say that it stood in contrast with my general perception of this country’s history as I know it best – steeped in a very recent and very raw wound that is perpetually picked at. I’m glad that I am here, that I have the opportunity to get to know the Germany that presents herself to me more personally, and not the one that I was introduced to on stale school benches and from the family memory books. So far, I really think we could get along just fine.

Here is a little taste of Munich. More to come on my current adventure where a wheelbarrow, rake, paintbrush and chisel are my tools, a beautiful natural setting is my office and a furry friendly cat is my inquisitive work colleague.

image

image

Munich is filled with a vast array of street performers. This musician sent shivers down my spine with his powerful performance.
Munich is filled with a vast array of street performers. This musician sent shivers down my spine with his powerful performance.

image

image

image

image

Old cathedral? Royal Palace? Seat of Government? Nope, this is the city hall... if you're gonna do it, do it right!
Old cathedral? Royal Palace? Seat of Government? Nope, this is the city hall… if you’re gonna do it, do it right!

image

image

image

image

Monument to a famous deceased composer and musician taken over by mourning fans of MJ. As he used to stay at the hotel facing the monument, where he would wave to the crowds from his balcony, they decided to commemorate him there.
Monument to a famous deceased composer and musician taken over by mourning fans of MJ. As he used to stay at the hotel facing the monument, where he would wave to the crowds from his balcony, they decided to commemorate him there.
The said hotel.
The said hotel.
The Frauenkirche, or Woman Church
The Frauenkirche, or Woman Church
I was told the name had nothing to do with its shape... but I am skeptical..
I was told the name had nothing to do with its shape… but I am skeptical..

image

image

image

image

On this wall, just below, was erected a plaque commemorating the death of several Nazi party members during a shootout with Munich's police before the war. Once the Nazis took power, passing citizens had to salute in the Nazi fashion. Those who wanted to avoid the salute (and avoid the punishment!) escaped in a side street...
On this wall was erected a plaque commemorating the death of several Nazi party members during a shootout with Munich’s police before the war. Once the Nazi’s took power, passing citizens had to salute in the Nazi fashion. Those who wanted to avoid the salute (and avoid the punishment!) escaped in a side street…
And here is that street, and her own commemoration of the escapees.
And here is that street, and her own commemoration.
How great to have international friends!
How great to have international friends!
The beautiful and truly awesome (as in HUGE!) English Garden.
The beautiful and truly awesome (as in HUGE!) English Garden.

image

image

image

image

It may be damn cold, but it didn't stop these river surfers in the English Garden.
It may be damn cold, but it didn’t stop these river surfers in the English Garden.

image

image

image

image

image

image

image

This was the smallest beer I could get at the local "beer house". In front of me, a mushroom strew with a potato dumpling.
This was the smallest beer I could get at the local “beer house”. In front of me, a mushroom strew with a potato dumpling.

image

image

image

image

image

image

image

image

image

A la prochaine mon amie!
A la prochaine mon amie!
mmmm... one of my favourite places - a lonely train heading to a new and exciting place...
mmmm… one of my favourite places – a lonely train heading to a new and exciting place…
Where so many adventures begin!
Where so many adventures begin!

Published by

Madnessasmantra

Hi! Thanks for visiting! Hope that you enjoy the blog! For more photos and art, or to purchase prints, please visit me on www.iamni.com

3 thoughts on “Guten Tag!”

    1. Tu me manques aussi! Je pense souvent à toi et David ici, vous adoreriez ça… J’ai hâte de poster des photos du travail que je fais ici – tu vas aimer ça!
      Gros bisous à vous et à ta famille! xx

Leave a Reply

