Let’s meet… Christine Hingston

During my stay in Ubud, I decided to have some “themed” days. Nothing too rigid, just a fun way to focus on what I really wanted to take-in, in that very busy place.

One such day was devoted to art.

And what an absolute delight to stumble across the beautifully located open art studio of Christine Hingston, an Australian artist who is living and working near Ubud for six months.

I quietly approached the elevated open area where Christine was busy elegantly stroking a very large and vibrant canvas. As soon as she noticed my presence, she kindly ushered me in and spoke candidly about her experience living and working in the area.

I felt incredibly lucky to be there, listening to this fascinating woman talk about her passion, describing not only the techniques of her craft, but how to balance creative work with a need to “make a living”.

I briefly explained to Christine my own wish to interweave a fulfilling career with the desire to set down roots and how at times, I feel almost paralysed with fear that I have given up a secure job for a vague ideal that might not even come to fruition…

Here is what she said to me:

“You just have to get out there and do it. Just do it. (…) If it works, it works. I am lucky, I have to admit it. I have a commercial aspect to my work. I don’t think it’s a given that if you follow your passion you will survive, but if you don’t try, you won’t know. (…) You’re not a failure if you go back to (a similar) job later… you’re a failure if you don’t try.”

And all of a sudden, the colours all around seemed that much brighter.

Christine and her photographer husband are living in Ubud for another 4 months. She will be exhibiting her work near Ubud in early September. For more information, please consult her website: http://www.christinehingston.com.au/

Image

Image

Image

ImageImage

Image

Image

Published by

Madnessasmantra

Hi! Thanks for visiting! Hope that you enjoy the blog! For more photos and art, or to purchase prints, please visit me on www.iamni.com

3 thoughts on “Let’s meet… Christine Hingston”

  1. I love Christine´s colorful art! and her words of wisdom too. “…you are a failure if you don´t try” strong stuff. Love it.

Leave a Reply

